And my being is but a lost particle of dust (Meray Dard ko jo Zubaan Milay)

Meray ghum ko jo zuban

 

Disheveled soul of my scarred body

Cries out in pain, a song in vain

A voiceless song, that is

It echoes into nothingness

With obscured words

That even I don’t seem to understand

My ache doesn’t reach to my tongue

And I seem to be an unrecognizable particle of dust amidst too many

I am like ashes into the ruins of my own being

If the immense pain in my heart

The blood soaked scars,

and my aches find words

I will find myself from my own ruins

My lost being will have its name and its address

And if I find the address to my own being

I will find the orchestra, the soul of the universe

And finding this secret will break my silence

Will give voice to my unsaid tale

I will, then find the secrets of the world

Write down the chronicles of my pains

And when my silence finds the voice,

this world will become my kingdom

…And when my silence finds the voice,

and my pain finds the words,

I will own the treasures of here and beyond… then…

(And while translations/adaptations can never do justice to the real …I attempted on this one…each word of Faiz resonates with my being) this is somewhere between translation and adaptation…Sometimes, or at times, quite often we find ourselves not to be either here or there…Our beings oscillate into the gray, perpetually…

One thought on “And my being is but a lost particle of dust (Meray Dard ko jo Zubaan Milay)

Leave a Comment

