I am deaf, blind and dumb!

It has been more than 15 hours since the families of martyrs from twin blast in Quetta are sitting on road with 86 coffins, waiting for government to respond. Media, state and most of us are silent. In our silence we are part of the crime.
Now sitting here in my comfortable blanket with the heater on, to make my room more comfy, I write it with guilt. I am guilty of being deaf, blind and dumb.
I am deaf, because I didn’t hear the cries of the mother of Khudi Ali, the youth activist who died along with hundreds of others in the blast in Quetta yesterday.
I am blind because I couldn’t see the 86 coffins and the mourners who are protesting on the road in temperature below 0 degrees.
I am dumb because I didn’t speak out, I didn’t go out and attend the protest, which I could.
I am ashamed of myself dear martyrs, I am ashamed, dear Khudi Ali that I couldn’t see, hear and speak and had let you die, alone.
Yes, I am part of your murder.
Mujhey Qatilon sey gila nahin, muhafizon sey sawal hey
I blame not the murderers but the saviors 
Mearay bachay sehmay gali main janay sey dartay hain
My children are afraid of going out on streets
Mearay loag sarkon pey mertay hain
My people are killed on roads
Mujhey apnay shehr main amn key liay abhi kitni jaanain ganwani hain
kitni laashain uthani hain
How many more killings we have to face, how many more deads we will have to bury to get to peace
Mujhey Qatilon sey gila nahin, muhafizon sey sawal hey
I blame not the murderers but the saviors

(poem written by: Mr. Safeer Ullah Khan) 253979_431208803614653_1844432554_n

Leave a Comment

